Berita > Berita

Korea Open Badminton
Inconsistency Roslin's bane

Selasa, 29 Agustus 2006 22:31:16
1114 klik
Oleh : admin
Kirim ke teman   Versi Cetak

By: K.M. Boopathy

ROSLIN Hashim’s dream run in the Korea Open badminton championship, which included the scalps of World No 1 Lee Chong Wei, Thailand Open champion Chen Yu and South Korea’s 2004 Olympic silver medallist Shon Seung Mo, was ended by his biggest enemy — inconsistency — at the Jangchoong Gymnasium in Seoul yesterday (Sunday,27/08).

The Malaysian failed to capitalise on a promising start and allowed China’s Bao Chunlai to snatch only his second grand prix title of his career with a 21-18, 21-16 win in 38 minutes.

Chunlai’s last title was four years and three months ago, during which time he finished runner-up in 10 tournaments. His last big win was the Denmark Open in 2001.

However, Roslin looked capable of sending Chunlai to yet another defeat in a final with an aggressive start.

Chunlai was erratic and sent several shots wide which allowed Roslin to take a commanding 11-4 lead.

But the wily Chunlai gradually settled down and began his fightback. Chunlai took six points on the trot to lead 15-14 as Roslin was fast running out of strategies.

Roslin’s often reliable defence was missing yesterday and the Malaysian was time and again beaten by Chunlai’s delicate net play.

Chunlai’s smashes also proved lethal as the match progressed and he was soon 1-0 up after winning the first game 21-18.

Chunlai took control of the match and from then on Roslin was fighting a lost cause.

Chunlai went on to win 21-16 for his biggest win to date, and with it a cheque for US,000 (RM87,800). Roslin had to settle for US,000 (RM43,900).

RESULTS — (All finals)
Men’s singles:
Bao Chunlai (Chn) bt Roslin Hashim (Mas) 21-18, 21-16.

Tony Gunawan-Candra Wijaya (US-Ina) bt Lee Jae Jin-Hwang Ji Man (S Kor) 21-18, 21-18.

Women’s singles:
Lu Lan (Chn) bt Zhu Lin (Chn) 21-18, 21-11.

Yang Wei-Zhang Jiewen (Chn) bt Jo Novita-Gresya Polii (Ina) 21-10, 21-11.

Mixed doubles:
Nova Widianto-Lilyana Natsir (Ina) bt Jens Eriksen-Mette Schjoldager (Den) 23-21, 21-18. (

Berita Berita Lainnya